Skiing in Scotland (and how I ended up with purple buttcheeks)

This trip started with me running frantically through Gatwick airport with a dreadful heavy feeling in my stomach that I was about to miss my flight. I’d turned up at Brighton train station earlier that morning only to find that my planned airport train had been cancelled. I jumped on the next train but with a sinking feeling that I knew I was cutting it close.

Luckily as I huffed and puffed my way through the terminal and up to the long boarding queue at my gate, I realised I was in the clear and definitely flying to Edinburgh that day.

Arriving into Edinburgh felt like greeting an familiar acquaintance. I had visited the city before so knew how to get around. After a bit of exploration I met up with Jin (an old friend) who was graciously hosting me for the weekend. We drank some cheap cheerful wine and went to bed early that night in preparation for our early start the next day.

Jin’s kitty cat who was unimpressed that we didn’t share the wine
20140211-190209.jpg

Before the sun even rose we were away driving towards Glenshee Ski Centre which is located just over an hour north of Edinburgh. Phil (Jin’s husband) was pretty gleeful at getting to stay in bed while we layered up for the freezing cold.

On arrival at the ski field we were surprised to see how patchy the snow was with tussock poking through and brown stoney patches scattered about. I think there’s a reason why skiing is generally pretty cheap in Scotland. But it ended up being a fun day albeit with a lot of falling over done by me. Jin is quite a good skier and managed to ski around all the icy patches. I think I set a new record for the number of times I managed to fall over.

20140212-180411.jpg

20140211-185316.jpg

One of the views from the top of a slope. Note all the tussock showing
20140211-185515.jpg

I had one spectacular fall where not being so good at stopping, I started hurtling towards a particularly large brown frozen patch of dirt. I also wasn’t very good at turning yet either (which I hear is a great technique for slowing oneself down) so sat down in order to stop. I still ended up skidding on my bum and back over the hard icy dirt eventually coming to a stop after a few metres. Later that night when I was getting ready for the shower, I looked down and realised that my cheeks were literally bruised purple all over along with scratches down my back. For the next week sitting down was a whole lot of fun.

Other things I got up to while in Edinburgh included looking at a massive bridge, going to the Camera Obscura, looking at more of the National Scottish Gallery, and the Real Mary King’s Close exhibition. All activities were really interesting and fun to do. I thought about checking out Edinburgh Castle but left it for another time with still feeling a bit castled-out.

Note: seeing too many castles in a short space of time results in a syndrome called ‘Castled-out’. The victim ends up feeling like all castles are the same and loses appreciation for such majestic fine structures. This syndrome can only be healed with time.

20140212-175719.jpg

Camera Obscura is a building filled with optical illusions and has that neat mirrored headless table that people often proudly show off on Facebook. It’s actually quite a lot of fun and has great views from the top of the city. The Close exhibition is more about what life and living conditions were really like in old Edinburgh. Again really interesting.

Camera Obscura view
20140212-175546.jpg

Before I knew it, it was time to catch my train back to Brighton. But the cool thing was that I only had to work a few days before my next planned weekend trip – Holland.

A view of a canon up on top of one of Edinburgh’s many hills
20140212-175803.jpg

4 thoughts on “Skiing in Scotland (and how I ended up with purple buttcheeks)

    • I don’t think I’ve ever managed to not get bruised from skiing actually just thinking about it. But this trip was definitely the worst bruising I’ve ever had

Leave a Reply

