Counting Down (Again)

And in the meantime, the countdown clock has been slowly ticking away..
20130429-144411.jpg
I have really loved it here. I’ve learned so many new things, and my confidence in myself as a nurse has grown in leaps and bounds. I have made some really great friendships that I’m sure will last a long time if not for life. I have also had a share of heartache and sadness which is still affecting me even over a month later. A large amount of chocolate and friendships are helping me through the sad patches.

But as happy as I am here, and as equally sad as I will be to leave, I am still counting down with quite a bit of excitement. Only 18 days to go.

And then the next set of schemes begins. I’ve had some plans in the making over the last few weeks which are just beginning to be confirmed now.

Once I finish here I will start off by heading to Esperance and spending a final visit with Rose. This time I am taking my suitcase with me so my baby-napping plan can be achieved by hiding a toddler in the case. I’m sure I can leave behind a few clothes and things to make a wee space for her. Because who needs clothes or things when you have an adorable toddler to cuddle and play with instead ;P

After a few days there, I will then catch a plane to….

…Drum roll please…

……

…….Cairns!

The secret is out! My big eye-popping hair-raising plans for a mini holiday on the way back to New Zealand.

While I am in Cairns, I plan to tick off something that’s been on my bucket list for a long time. Something that is in fact considered one of the seven natural wonders of the world. Any guesses so far? Okay I’ll stop your wondering. No pun intended. I am going to scuba dive at the Great Barrier Reef.

And not just once. I am actually going to do my Padi Open Water Certificate which involves lots of diving over 5 whole days.

I am so thrilled and excited! I’m getting little tingles of excitement and nervous butterflies every time I think about it. I first went scuba diving in Rarotonga back in 2010 and loved it. The ocean is such a magical beautiful place. And I can’t think of a better place to get my open water cert than at the Great Barrier Reef.

Once I’ve finished getting worked up into a tizzy by fish and coral, my next flight will take me back to Wellington in the Land of the Long White Cloud. I hope to catch up with some friends and family there before sailing back on the ferry to my nuclear family in Blenheim. And then while I enjoy some time with my gorgeous family and mates, I’ll begin counting down again to the next set of blood-tingling plans.

18 days to go.

Image curtesy of Wikipedia
20130429-163053.jpg

Leave a Reply

